Login to Your Account
Honda Pioneer Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: New Big Red Owner

Member #
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

New Big Red Owner

Hello All,

I just picked up my new 2010 Big Red in Olive on Friday. So far, I love it.

I've been looking over this forum for a few days and thought I would add my reasons for owning a Big Reds as opposed to a Polaris or Yamaha.

First, let me say that I have driven both a Polaris RZR and a Kawasaki Teryx. I have raced both with a 09 Big Red Camo last summer.....and I can say without a doubt both will flat out destroy a Big Red in any kind of performance testing. (At least the ones we had together last June) I work as a Police Officer for a small town in Missouri, and we are lucky enough to have all the major manufacturers in town...Honda Suzuki Kawasaki Yamaha Polaris Artic Cat etc. So the local dealers let us "demo" atvs and MUVs every year at our Fourth of July festival. We use them to patrol the fair grounds etc. Well last year I borrowed a Camo Big Red from the local Honda guys, and we had several others bring atvs muvs for us to ride, some personal vehicles, some demos.

The Kawasaki felt very cheap.....steering felt like that of a Barbie Jeep....and I hate, hate, hate, the continuously variable transmission belt thing.....Polaris same thing.....it was a rocket...and if I was 19 again, it is what I would own. You could easily rip donuts with both in dry grass...it was great fun to act like a punk kid again.....for about 5 minutes!!!

The Big Red is not meant to be sporty in any way shape or form. It is a work vehicle, plain and simple. Anyone who says otherwise is deluding themselves.

Now, with that being said, I can also say the Honda was by far and away a smoother riding, nicer driving, more high quality build than both the Kawasaki and the Polaris.