Close
Login to Your Account
Honda Pioneer Forums - Powered by vBulletin

Thread: Popped my dirt cherry

Member #
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

Popped my dirt cherry

So I went up to a buddy's house to do some off road trail riding behind his house. I've only rode a few dirt bikes up and down a local street, but I have never been on actual dirt before.

This guy made a kick ass dirt track behind his house for his 15,9 and 7 year old sons and daughter. (and himself too I think)

I was gonna play around with an XR450 but it was suggested I try an XR200 just to "get a feel." I didnt even consider another bike for the rest of the day. I slid around on the muddy track for a good part of the morning. I fell of the damn bike twice in the first hour, which is more than I've ever fallen from a motorcycle since I started riding 8 years ago.

After lunch we galavanted deep into adjacent property. Crossed a bootleg wooden bridge, into muddier trails, past some very technical rocks and/or streams and a scary hill climb. We got to a huge field where I got a few rooster tailed chunks of mud in my face as the more experienced riders wizzed by me.... mostly on one wheel. Off to some more trails and looped around. It was my first time so I am not sure how to rate the trails, but there were about 7 other bikes (assorted crf's230/250,dr650's, a klx 125, a couple of 2 smokers and a husky 450) that were having a blast and go there often.

We bumped into a father and son both on ATV's.... the son was about 5 years old on this little 50cc raptor, blasting through mud puddles and sliding out his rear. He was even catching some mini-air from one of the little jumps. He even wiped out and tried to jump back on to ride his atv while it was still tipped over. The kid was too cute and had no fear..... But all I could think about was one thing.........My parents fricken deprived me as a child. I will break the cycle (of deprivation that is) and will force my parents to buy my kids an atv!