Helmet Theft?
Close
Login to Your Account
Honda Pioneer Forums - Powered by vBulletin
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Thread: Helmet Theft?

Dignam

Helmet Theft?

So I am still new to this scene and I am paranoid about my helmet. I am curious how common helmet theft is? Do many of you simply leave it sitting on the bike, is locking the strap in your seat enough? I guess I feel like to either someone who knows what they are worth or just to a punk kid who think it looks cool it is a pretty easy target. Is my paranoia here not needed?

any4xx

Re: Helmet Theft?

You're not paranoid. Helmets are often stolen. 99% of he time I carry mine with me. On those occasions where I know I will want to leave it with the bike I use a cable lock and route it through the face shield opening and lock it to the bike.

TattooedGQ

Yup, helmets get snatched all the time. And if you use the helmet hooks in your tail, jerks usually cut the strap. Ive seen it happen way too many times. I carry it....chicks dig it. :-)

4. Remove Advertisements
    PioneerForums.com
    Advertisements

Member #
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)

The only place I leave mine on the bike is at work (plenty of security) I work for Fedex. Any other time I carry it with me.

cbrn00b

Carry it with me - dont trust the idiots/morons at my university parking lot.

-Z-

We have lockers at my work, so I put my gear in there. Everywhere else my helmet stays with me. I didn't buy a $600 helmet so someone else could just get it for free.

That being said, there is a pretty sick helmet bag out on the market now, it's called the PacSafe something-something, and it uses a braided steel cable for the draw cord so it can be locked to something, and the bag has a steel mesh weave in the bag's lining to prevent the bag from just being slashed open and the helmet stolen. Of course it's not theft-PROOF (nothing is) but it's pretty damn theft-deterrent.

Member #
    Mentioned
    0 Post(s)