Honda Pioneer Forums banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've finally considered buying a satellite radio. I'm looking to pick up the Xact Visor model. I'm planning on hard wiring it to my truck, just like I've done for radar dectectors. Also I'd like to use it in the house and of course on the bike. I found a bundle package at Sam's for $79.00 that comes with the car kit and the home kit. Will the home antennae work OK for the bike or should I buy an additional vehicle antennae? And how are you guys/gals wiring it to the bike, the same as I'd wire it to the car, on a fuse and a ground? Thanks in advance. I searched the archives and most of the info is a couple of years old.

G

·
Yup... the smaller antennas are cool. Just know that they NEED to be on a metallic surface to work pretty much at all. You might get a signal some of the time if it's on plastic, but otherwise, you need metal. I'm not an RF engineer, so I don't know why, but that's how it is.

I have a friend that wired it up to his bike, going to the battery and ground with an inline fuse right next to the battery. He then wired up a connector near his left leg to plug a cord into for his chatterbox. Seemed to work OK.

G

·
Hmm. The fuse idea is a good one. I wired in a power plug and I use the cigarette lighter plug on my satellite radio. I use a vehicle antenna. I have it under my rear seat cowl. The Targa seat cowl has a metal bracket under it that I stuck it on. It works fine under the seat cowl.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Another question, since this is a plug and play unit, can I just have the satellite radio and my portable AM/FM/CD unit in my tank bag and listen off that unit straight to my chatterbox like I do now?

Can the antenna be left in the top of my tank bag in the map window or does it really absolutely have to be stuck to something metallic?

G

·
smkeatr said: