Honda Pioneer Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2006 CB600F (599/Hornet) and I am new to the motorcycle world. I would like to install a gear position indicator near my gauge cluster. Since I'm new and have about 40 miles to my name until I fix the bike, I would like to simplify the things I need to keep track of. At times in this area people can be very hostile and no matter how much I pay attention to my driving people always do dumb stuff.
Where I'm going is that I can't seem to find a gear position indicator that's made for my bike. Are there universal kits? and does my bike even have a factory sensor to tap into? My gauge cluster notifies me when I'm in neutral, so there's got to be something there. I like the compact design of the GlPro but I'm hesitant to purchase b/c it seems they're only made for injected bikes, as mine is carb.

Thanks, wimbo

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
since you asked & I am not a fan of others telling me how to spend my own $$...
I went w/ the DiGi which I did have to splice in the wires, it was easy

but Acumen now has a plug & play one
& yes I like it, but I am quite sure many would say I have wasted much $$ on my bike

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I would be curious on doing it. It can't be that hard. I'd imagine I could set up a string of LED's either change by colors or numbers 1-6, or grn, ylw, red, blu, etc. that change by gears. I'd have to see the wiring diagram of how the other ones work first to make my own.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Making the part with the LED's is the easy part. How to pick up the gear position is the hard part. Mounting something on the gear lever exposes it to weather conditions and dirt. Putting something inside the gearbox is not an option. How do these aftermarket goodies work??:idunno:

G

·
Discussion Starter · #8 ·