Honda Pioneer Forums banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a very confused beginner in the world of moto maintenance.

How do you know when to use grease, anti-seize, or loc-tite? Although manuals give torque settings, they often don't say anything about how to treat threads before fastening.

Can someone give me some guidelines?

Typically, I would use grease or anti-seize on any fasteners that are a different metal from what they are going into (i.e. stainless bolts into aluminum). However, I would want to use Loc-tite thread sealant (of a low/medium formulation) to secure certain critical threads that I don't intend to unfasten and re-fasten regularly.

But here's the question: If I'm replacing the engine mounting bolts (to put on frame sliders), what would I use? The bolts are steel, and are going into the aluminum engine. My gut tells me that grease or (even better) copper-based anti-seize is essential. However, I don't intend to un-fasten these bolts any time soon (with luck), so I think I should use a couple drops of loc-tite as well. So should I use both? Just loctite? Just antiseize?

Can someone educate me in the magical mysteries of thread-treatment?

Thanks all.

--- D

·
Registered
45 Posts
I've used lock-tite on engine mounts on both occasions that I've had to remove them(different bikes). I don't see a need to grease it if you're not going to remove it :twocents:

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
when steel bolts are introduced to an aluminun piece, it is best to keep a barrier of grease between them for, as I am told, this helps keep down rust that is prone when these two metals contact each other.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
when steel bolts are introduced to an aluminun piece, it is best to keep a barrier of grease between them for, as I am told, this helps keep down rust that is prone when these two metals contact each other.